Harris County DWI Lawyer
Like all states, Texas has very strict laws regarding driving while intoxicated (DWI) by alcohol or drugs. Harris County though, as throughout the rest of the state, distinguishes between a DWI and driving under the influence (DUI) charge. A DWI charge is a very serious matter and those convicted will face serious penalties, including the possibility of jail time. It is for this reason that anyone charged with this offense speaks to a Harris County DWI lawyer that can prepare the strong defense necessary to fight the charges.
- ALR Hearing
- ATVs & Off-Road DWI
- Bicycle DWI
- Blood Tests
- Breath Tests
- BWI Boating While Intoxicated
- DWI Diversion
- DWI Drugs
- DWI License Suspension
- DWI Marijuana
- DWI Penalties
- DWI Prescription Drugs
- Felony DWI
- Field Sobriety Test
- First DWI Offense
- Second DWI Offense
- Third DWI Offense
- Underage DUI
Our Harris County DWI Lawyer Explains the Difference from a DUI
Texas law uses both the terms “DWI” and “DUI,” which does lead to some confusion. Anyone that is over the age of 21 and found driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or greater will face DWI charges. DUI charges, on the other hand, only apply to underage drivers that are found to be driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Minors, unlike adults, are considered to be breaking the law if they have any detectable amounts of drugs or alcohol.
Our Harris County DWI Lawyer Can Help You Avoid the Harsh Consequences
If you are convicted of a DWI, you face very serious penalties. For a first offense, you may have to pay a fine up to $2,000, and you will have to spend a mandatory three days in jail. There is a chance you could be sentenced to up to 180 days in jail. You will also lose your driver’s licenses for up to one year, and auto insurance premiums have been known to triple after a DWI conviction.
The above penalties are for a first offense only. If you are convicted of subsequent offenses, these penalties become much worse. You will likely be sentenced to a longer jail sentence, pay higher fines, and you may even have to install an interlock ignition device in your vehicle.
Our Harris County DWI Lawyer Can Defend Against Your Charges
Being charged with a DWI is frightening but fortunately, there are defenses available. These include:
- Contesting field sobriety test results
- Contesting blood, breath, and urine test results
- Challenging expert testimony
- Challenging police officer testimony
- Arguing that the police officer violated your rights, such as pulling you over without having reasonable suspicion
- Challenging an illegal search and getting important evidence thrown out so it cannot be used against you
After reviewing the facts of your case, a Harris County DWI defense lawyer will determine which defense strategy is most appropriate to give you the best chance of a positive outcome.
Call Our DWI Defense Lawyer in Harris County Today
If you have been charged with driving while intoxicated, you do not have to face your charges alone. At Ayson Law Firm, our Harris County DWI defense lawyer will refute the arguments of law enforcement and the prosecution to give you the best chance of beating the charges. Call us today at 832-209-2297 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation.