Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Houston DWI Lawyer > Houston Third Offense DWI Lawyer

Houston Third Offense DWI Lawyer

Texas law on driving while intoxicated (DWI) is very strict. A third offense is prosecuted as a felony, which comes with very harsh consequences. It does not even matter if the previous offenses on your record were from decades ago. Even if you have been charged and convicted of a DWI in another state, the prosecution and judge can still hold that against you. Fortunately, being charged with a third DWI is not a hopeless situation. A Houston third offense DWI lawyer will work hard to create a defense that will help you beat the charges.

Our Houston Third Offense Lawyer Explains the Criminal Penalties of These Charges

A conviction for a third DWI offense can result in a judge sentencing you to anywhere between two and ten years in state prison. You will also have to pay a maximum fine of $10,000, and may have to serve between 80 to 200 hours of community service. In some instances, a judge may sentence a defendant to up to ten years of probation. Even in this case, a mandatory jail sentence of at least ten days is still required.

After the restoration of your driving rights, you will have to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. If you blow into this device and it detects alcohol on your breath, your car will not start.

Our Houston Third Offense Lawyer Explains the Driver’s License Penalties

If convicted of a third DWI offense in Texas, you will face very serious penalties. Your driver’s license may be suspended for as long as two years. Even if you obtained your driver’s license in another state, you may still be prohibited from driving in Texas, and officials may even notify the state that provided your license of the DWI.

After restoration of your driving privileges, you will have to pay an assessment fee of $1,500 to $2,000 every year for three years. This assessment is paid to the Texas Department of Public Safety and you must pay it if you want to keep your driver’s license.

Our Houston Third Offense Lawyer Can Help You Avoid the Long-Term Consequences of a Felony Conviction

The criminal penalties, and the impact on your driver’s license, are all very harsh punishments levied after a third DWI conviction. Unfortunately, there are other consequences that will impact you years from now, as well. With a felony conviction on your record, you may lose the right to:

  • Vote
  • Possess a firearm
  • Carry certain professional licenses

You may also find it difficult to find employment, academic opportunities, and your credit will also be affected.

Call Our Houston Third Offense Lawyer Today

If you or someone you love has been arrested for a third DWI offense, you need sound legal advice today. At Ayson Law Firm, our third offense lawyer in Houston will make the necessary arguments to get important evidence against you thrown out, so you have the best chance of beating the charges. To get the defense you need, call us today at 832-209-2297 or fill out our online form to schedule a free consultation.

Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
  • facebook
  • youtube
  • yelp
  • twitter
  • linkedin

© 2020 - 2021 Ayson Law Firm. All rights reserved. This law firm website
and legal marketing are managed by MileMark Media.