Harris County Underage DUI Lawyer
Harris County, like the rest of Texas, follows the same laws as most other states in the country. It is illegal for anyone to drive with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or greater. For minors in Harris County though, the laws are slightly different. Under the Zero Tolerance law in Texas, it is illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to drive with any detectable trace of alcohol or drugs in their system. If you or your child has been charged with driving under the influence, it is critical that you speak to a Harris County underage DUI lawyer that can help you beat the charges.
Our Harris County Underage DUI Lawyer Can Help You Avoid the Penalties
The legal age to drink alcohol in Harris County is 21. Not only is it illegal for minors to consume alcohol, but it is also illegal for them to drive with any trace amounts in their system. A person that is over the age of 17 will still face penalties for an underage DUI, even though they are no longer considered a juvenile by the state. Regardless of the age of the minor, a conviction for an underage DUI will come with serious penalties.
The penalties for an underage DUI conviction include a maximum fine of $500, a minimum of 20 hours of community service, and a driver’s license suspension. The driver’s license suspension lasts anywhere between 60 to 180 days for a first offense, and two years for a second offense. In some cases, defendants are also ordered to enroll in and complete an alcohol awareness course.
Our Harris County Underage DUI Lawyer Explains DWI
It is not uncommon for people to think a DUI charge is the same as a DWI (driving while intoxicated) charge. In Harris County though, the two are completely different charges. A DUI charge only applies to underage minors, while DWI charges apply to all other adult drivers. A DWI charge is much more serious and a conviction will carry a minimum of three days in jail. Still, a DUI charge will have serious consequences, and it is important to defend against these charges vigorously.
Our Harris County Underage DUI Lawyer Can Defend Your Case
Being charged with underage DUI is scary, but there are defenses available. Law enforcement must have reasonable cause to believe a driver is intoxicated before they pull the driver over. They must also have probable cause to make an arrest. If these procedures are not followed, the stop or arrest can be considered illegal and any evidence obtained afterward can be deemed inadmissible. Other factors, including mouthwash and even asthma inhalers, can also increase a driver’s BAC even when they are completely sober.
Our Underage DUI Lawyer in Harris County Can Provide the Best Defense Strategy
At Ayson Law Firm, our Harris County underage DUI lawyer knows the defense strategies available and will determine one which is best to use in your case. If you or your child has been charged, call us today at 832-209-2297 or fill out our online form to schedule a free consultation.