Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Houston DWI Lawyer > Houston DWI Lawyer

Houston DWI Lawyer

Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) is one of the most common criminal offenses charged in the State of Texas. It can also be one of the most disruptive. You face not only heavy fines and potential jail time but also the suspension of your driver’s license, which can completely sidetrack your daily life. DWI convictions will stay on your record for years after your arrest, creating potential problems with employment, professional licenses, loans, housing, education, and immigration status. DWI charges are serious, and if you have been arrested, you need to act quickly to protect your life and freedom.

As experienced Houston DWI lawyers, we pride ourselves in understanding the complexities of DWI defense. Whether you need us to help you understand the penalties you face or someone in your corner to ensure you stay on the road, we can help. We have helped individuals charged with DWI for the first time in Houston, Texas, as well as repeat offenders. We represent clients who face a simple misdemeanor DUI/DWI charge in Houston, TX, as well as those who face an aggravated DWI charge due to a high BAC level or because they were driving drunk with a minor in the vehicle.

We’ll study your driving history—including previous fines, convictions, jail time, insurance rates, or community service—your charges, and your reported blood alcohol (BAC) level, all to help determine what you’ll need to do to get the charges dropped or minimize the consequences. We will work with you at every step of the way to come up with the best defense strategy to save the DWI charge from becoming a DWI conviction. We will also make sure that your driver’s license is reinstated because we understand the problems one can face after a license suspension in Texas. Our experienced and qualified Houston DWI defense lawyer takes an aggressive approach toward defending our clients, and we are ready to fight for you.

Punishments for DWI Conviction

A DWI conviction is no joke in the State of Texas. Even a first offense can land a defendant in jail for a significant period of time. Multiple offenses lead to even more severe penalties, potentially upending a defendant’s life.

The typical punishments for a DWI conviction in Texas are as follows:

  • First Offense DWI
    • Class B Misdemeanor
    • Fine of up to $2,000
    • Up to 180 days in jail
    • License suspension for up to a year
  • BAC at or Over 0.015 (even on a first offense)
    • Class A Misdemeanor
    • Fine up to $4,000
    • Up to a year in jail
    • License suspension up to a year
  • Second Offense DWI
    • Class A Misdemeanor
    • Fine up to $4,000
    • Up to a year in jail
    • License suspension up to two years
  • Third Offense DWI
    • 3rd Degree Felony
    • Fine up to $10,000
    • From two to ten years in prison
    • License suspension up to two years

With additional prior criminal convictions, the penalties range even higher. Even if you are facing a first offense, you need a strong and dedicated legal advocate in your corner to reduce your fine, avoid jail time, and protect your driver’s license. Reach out to the Texas DWI defense team at Ayson Law Firm for help.

Protecting Your Driver’s License

One of the most frustrating results of a DWI or DUI conviction is losing your driver’s license. Having your license suspended can make it difficult to get to work or school, affect your ability to see your kids or go to the grocery store, prevent you from traveling long distances, and force you to waste time and money on public transit or other forms of transportation when driving would be much easier. Thankfully, there are ways to protect your license after a DWI arrest.

After a DWI arrest, your license suspension may not begin immediately. When you are arrested for DWI, your driver’s license will be confiscated and replaced with a Notice of Suspension that amounts to a temporary license for 40 days before the suspension kicks in. You can still drive until the automatic suspension starts. There will be a separate civil case aimed at suspending your driving privileges. Your license will be immediately suspended if you have a BAC of 0.08 or more, or if you refuse to submit to a breath or blood test, unless you exercise your right to a hearing as described below.

You can prevent the automatic suspension from taking place by requesting an Administrative License Revocation (ALR) hearing within 15 days. Getting an ALR hearing will delay your license suspension, even if you are convicted of DWI. You may have grounds to challenge your license suspension as well. A seasoned Houston DWI attorney can help you fight your license suspension while also battling your DWI charges, ensuring that your life is not upended just because a crime was alleged.

Call for Help After Your Houston DWI Arrest

If you have been arrested for DWI or DUI in Texas, you need to call a qualified DWI defense lawyer as soon as possible to protect your rights. The sooner you call, the sooner you can start building your defense. We can help you avoid the most serious consequences of a DWI conviction, protect your driver’s license, and avoid jail time. Reach out to our Houston criminal defense legal office to speak with a seasoned DUI criminal defense attorney at Ayson Law Firm today. Call the Houston DWI lawyer at Ayson Law Firm today for a free consultation about your Houston DWI charges.

Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
  • facebook
  • youtube
  • yelp
  • twitter
  • linkedin

© 2020 Ayson Law Firm. All rights reserved. This law firm website
and legal marketing are managed by MileMark Media.