Houston Underage DUI Lawyer
In Houston, as throughout the majority of the United States, it is against the law for motorists to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or greater. For minors in Texas though, the laws are slightly different. If a minor is found with any detectable amount of alcohol in their system, they will face a driver’s license suspension and misdemeanor charges. This is known as the “Zero Tolerance” law and it is taken very seriously by law enforcement and the prosecution in the state. If you or your child has been charged, it is time to speak to a Houston underage DUI lawyer.
Our Houston Underage DUI Lawyer Explains the Law for Those Under 17
Any time a minor under the age of 17 is found driving under the influence, the offense is known as driving under the influence of alcohol, or DUIA. When someone is convicted of a DUIA, they face multiple penalties, which may include:
- A maximum fine of $500
- 20 to 40 hours of community service
- A driver’s license suspension for 60 to 180 days
- Completion of an alcohol awareness course
If a minor is convicted of a second offense, they will face the same penalties above, but their driver’s license will be suspended for up to two years.
Our Houston Underage DUI Lawyer Explains the Law for Those Over 17
When a person is between the ages of 17 and 21 in Texas, and they are found operating a motor vehicle while under the influence, it is known as a DWI, or driving while intoxicated. A DWI is a class B misdemeanor and if convicted a person will face the following penalties:
- A maximum fine of $2,000
- A jail sentence between 72 hours and 180 days
- A one-year driver’s license suspension
The above penalties apply to first offenses only. When a minor over the age of 17 is convicted of a second offense, the fine increases to $4,000, the individual could face up to one year in jail, and the driver’s license suspension is also extended to 18 months. A third offense upgrades the offense to a third-degree felony. Anyone convicted of this offense will face between two and ten years in prison, a driver’s license suspension of two years, and a maximum fine of $10,000.
Just like when an adult is charged with the offense, it is critical that young people get the help they need from a Houston underage DUI lawyer. A lawyer will create a solid defense to give individuals the best chance of beating the charges.
Call Our Experienced Houston Underage DUI Lawyer
If you or your child is facing charges, our underage DUI lawyer in Houston can help. At Ayson Law Firm, our skilled attorney knows how to defend against these charges to give you the best chance of beating them and retaining your freedom. Call us today at 832-209-2297 or fill out our online form to schedule a free consultation and to learn more about how we can help.