Harris County DUI Lawyer
Texas is known as one of the worst states for drunk driving fatalities and many people die or are injured by drunk drivers in Harris County every year. To combat these preventable deaths, the Lone Star State has enacted very tough laws for anyone found drunk driving.
The law is especially tough on minors that are found to be driving under the influence. Under the Zero Tolerance law, anyone under the age of 21 will face charges if they are found driving with any detectable trace of alcohol in their system. If you or your child has been charged, it is crucial that you speak with a Harris County DUI lawyer that can provide you with a strong defense.
- ALR Hearing
- ATVs & Off-Road DWI
- Bicycle DWI
- Blood Tests
- Breath Tests
- BWI Boating While Intoxicated
- DWI Diversion
- DWI Drugs
- DWI License Suspension
- DWI Marijuana
- DWI Penalties
- DWI Prescription Drugs
- Felony DWI
- Field Sobriety Test
- First DWI Offense
- Second DWI Offense
- Third DWI Offense
- Underage DUI
Our Harris County DUI Lawyer Can Help Underage Drivers
In Harris County, as throughout the rest of the state, a person will face driving under the influence (DUI) charges if they are under the age of 21 and there is any detectable trace of alcohol on their breath. The penalties for those convicted include a $500 maximum fine, at least 20 hours of community service, and a driver’s license suspension. The suspension will last between 60 to 180 days. For a second offense, a person will lose their driver’s license for two years. Some individuals are also ordered to complete an alcohol awareness program.
Our Harris County DUI Lawyer Explains the Difference from a DWI
Many people mistake a DUI charge for a DWI but in Harris County, the two are actually completely different charges. DUI charges apply only to those under the age of 21 and they are classified as Class C misdemeanors. Driving while intoxicated (DWI) charges apply to those who are 21 years old or older and are found driving under the influence. DWI charges are classified as Class B misdemeanors, which are much more serious.
Still, it is critical that anyone charged with a DUI speaks to a Harris County DUI lawyer. It is likely that if a minor under the age of 17 is convicted of a DUI, the record will be sealed and employers cannot check it. However, anyone over the age of 17 in Texas is considered an adult. A DUI conviction will remain on a person’s criminal record and can prevent them from obtaining employment, academic opportunities, and even housing. DUIs also typically cannot be expunged from someone’s record, so it is critical to have a strong defense from the outset.
Our DUI Lawyer in Harris County Can Provide the Defense You Need
If you or your child has been charged, it is important to speak to a Harris County DUI lawyer as soon as possible. At Ayson Law Firm, our experienced attorney knows how to build the solid defense you need to beat the charges and protect your future. Call us today at 832-209-2297 or fill out our online form to schedule a free consultation and to learn more about how we can help with your case.