What is an ALR Hearing?
ALR is an acronym that stands for the Administrative License Revocation (ALR) Program. It is in place to assess whether an individual driver’s license should be suspended after a person is arrested for boating or driving while intoxicated.
A Texas DWI is a serious offense. After an arrest, it is possible you will be stripped of your driving privileges. If you have been notified that your license has been suspended, you do have the option of moving forward with a hearing. An experienced Houston DWI lawyer can help build your defense after a driving while intoxicated charge.
Reasons for a Suspended License
Every situation is unique and a legal professional will need to assess your individual situation, but overall reasons why individuals may have a license suspended include the following:
- You refused to take a breath or blood test
- Or you took a breath or blood test and failed
- You were driving a non-commercial vehicle and registered a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or more
- Or you were driving a commercial vehicle and registered a BAC of 0.04 or more
Field sobriety tests can also be part of a driving while intoxicated (DWI) or boating while intoxicated (BWI) charge. Law enforcement officials typically administer field sobriety tests when they believe a person operating a vehicle is impaired. If you do not take the sobriety tests, if you refuse, it is possible your license will be suspended as well.
Timelines for Requesting an ALR Hearing
If you were charged with a DWI and your driver’s license was suspended, you can contest it but there are time restraints. For example, if you refused to take a sobriety test and an officer took your license, you probably received a notice of the suspension and a temporary permit. In those circumstances, you will have 15 days from the date on the suspension notice to request a hearing.
When a person consented to a test but the result was a BAC level that was illegal, the individual could be mailed a suspension notice. In those circumstances, the person has 20 days from that notice date.
Then, once the Texas Department of Public Safety receives the request for an ALR hearing, they will mail out the location, date, and time. There are times when it takes a few months to schedule a hearing.
There are fees. Even when a reinstatement is awarded there is a $125 fee for renewal of a driver’s license. Plus you are likely responsible for other financial expenses in connection to the charge. A skilled Houston DWI lawyer can walk you through what to expect and how to move forward.
Have you decided you want to request an ALR hearing? Our experienced legal team can defend you against criminal charges. We have the knowledge to protect you whether the alleged crime was minor or serious. Reach out to the legal team at Ayson Law Firm to understand your rights. Contact us today for a free consultation with a Houston criminal defense attorney today.