Houston DWI Involving Children Lawyer
Anyone that is convicted of driving while intoxicated (DWI) in Houston will face very serious penalties, including fines and potentially even jail time. However, when a person is accused of a DWI while they have a minor child in the vehicle, the consequences become far greater. A conviction for a DWI with a child in the car could also result in additional charges, such as child endangerment. If you have been accused of a DWI, particularly if a child was in the vehicle with you, you need to speak with a Houston DWI involving children lawyer today.
Our Houston DWI Involving Children Lawyer Defines the Offense
The law recognizes that when a child is in a vehicle, they have no control over whether the vehicle is operated in a safe manner or not. It is the responsibility of the driver to ensure that children are safe while they are in the vehicle. It is for this reason that the Texas Penal Code Section makes it illegal to operate a motor vehicle while intoxicated, and with a passenger that is under the age of 15 years old.
Under the Penal Code, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or greater, or to drive a vehicle while physically or mentally impaired by alcohol or drugs. To be charged with a DWI involving a child, you do not have to get into an accident or cause anyone injuries, including the child that was in the vehicle at the time.
Our Houston DWI Involving Children Lawyer Explains Child Endangerment
The Texas Penal Code also makes it illegal to endanger children in Houston, and throughout the rest of the state. Under Section 22.041(c), it is against the law to knowingly, intentionally, recklessly, or with criminal negligence, to act in any way or fail to act in a manner that places a child under the age of 15 in danger of bodily injury, physical or mental impairment, or death. Driving while under the influence would fall under this definition and so, could result in child endangerment charges.
Our Houston DWI Involving Children Lawyer Can Help You Avoid Harsh Penalties
In Houston, a DWI involving a child is classified as a state jail felony. The penalties a person will face if convicted include:
- Maximum fine of $10,000
- A state jail sentence between 180 days and two years
- Enrollment in alcohol or drug education classes
- A maximum 1,000 hours of community service
- A driver’s license suspension of no more than 180 days
- A fee ranging between $1,000 and $2,000, to be paid every year for three years, in order to retain your license
- Installation of interlock ignition device
A Houston DWI involving children lawyer can help you avoid these harsh penalties by building the solid defense needed for your case.
Call Our Houston DWI Involving Children Lawyer for a Consultation
DWI charges are always serious, but they become much more so if you had a child with you in the vehicle at the time. If you are facing charges, our DWI involving children lawyer in Houston is here to help. At Ayson Law Firm, we know the defense strategies that will give you the best chance of a positive outcome and allow you to retain your freedom. Call us today at 832-209-2297 or fill out our online form to schedule a free consultation.