What Happens If I Receive A Third DWI In Texas?
Drunk driving in the state of Texas is taken seriously by law enforcement officers and the court. This is true if you were charged with a driving while intoxicated (DWI) offense for the first or third time. But a third DWI is considered a felony, which can lead to life-long consequences and time spent in jail.
An experienced Houston DWI lawyer knows how to obtain successful results, even when a person is facing a third offense charge. To understand what your options are, discuss the details of your situation with a skilled attorney.
A Third DWI Is a Third-Degree Felony
According to Texas law, a third DWI is a third-degree felony, so individuals charged are not treated the same as first-time offenders. A first-time offender may find they are given more options to improve their situation, but a third-time offender likely has to experience some jail time.
The amount of time spent behind bars will depend on the situation. While the law states a person should serve a sentence that is a minimum of two years, there could be options to land on that 24 month mark. There may be a supervised program that would qualify, for example. Or there could be probation within a substance abuse program for part of the time that needs to be served.
Penalties include fines as well. The amount of the fine will depend on the situation. Typically the maximum is $10,000. While you may have to pay a much smaller amount, remember you will also have other expenses related to your charge, such as court fees, counseling program costs, and paying for an interlock device, when needed.
Loss of Work and Rights
After a third DWI conviction, it is also possible you will face penalties beyond fines and time served. Individuals have found themselves no longer able to own firearms, experiencing job loss, and having difficulty securing housing after a conviction. In order to protect your rights and hold on to the life you have built as much as possible, you will need legal counsel.
If you or someone you love needs to fight a DWI charge, connect with an experienced Houston DWI lawyer who can navigate negotiations and represent you in court. Reaching out right away is best, you will need a legal professional building your defense as soon as you are arrested. An attorney will know if having your charges dropped or reduced is possible, they can also advise you on when a plea deal is favorable given the details of your situation.
Did someone you love receive a third DWI and you are unsure what options are available? Our experienced legal team can provide you with the legal support you need. We have the knowledge to protect you whether you were charged with a DWI in connection to alcohol or prescription drug use. Reach out to the legal team at Ayson Law Firm to understand your rights. Contact us today for a free consultation with a Houston criminal defense attorney today.