Skip to main content

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu
Ayson Law Firm Aggressive Criminal Defense Representation in Houston
  • Schedule A Free Consultation

Leaving A Texas Crash Scene


Leaving an accident scene is never in your best interests. Often drivers flee an accident site because they are scared of what punishments they will face. For example, if they are under the influence of alcohol, were speeding, or were driving with a license that was not valid for one reason or another.

It is a crime to leave a Texas accident site that resulted in property damages, personal injuries, or loss of life. Consequences of an accident will be directly related to the details of the crash, and leaving the scene will only escalate the possible penalties. If you were driving while under the influence and were involved in a crash, connect with a professional who understands Texas law. A Houston DWI lawyer will help you understand your options.

Possible Consequences

The penalties for being involved in a Texas car accident will depend on the details of the event. For instance, if there were no injuries sustained, you should stop your vehicle as near to the accident scene as you are safely able. Then, exchange information, such as names, insurance data, and contact information with the parties involved in the crash. If you fail to stay and the damage caused is under a couple of hundred dollars, you will face a Class C misdemeanor charge. Higher property damage amounts will lead to a Class B misdemeanor.

Naturally, accidents involving injuries are treated differently. Drivers must stay at the scene until information is shared and care for the injured party is obtained. There are serious penalties for leaving an accident site in which individuals have been injured.

  • Probation or incarceration and a fine of up to $5,000 for leaving the scene where a person was injured.
  • If the crash involved a serious bodily injury, charges will be escalated to a 3rd degree felony.
  • And if there was a fatality, the charges will be a 2nd degree felony, resulting in up to 20 years of imprisonment and a fine of up to $10,000.

And if you were under the influence, you will be facing criminal charges for that as well.

Building a Defense

It can be extremely difficult to build a defense when a drunk driver leaves a Texas crash scene. A Houston DWI lawyer has the talents you need, they will look over the details of the situation and inform you of paths forward.

What questions do you have regarding a drunk driver leaving the scene of an accident? DWIs are serious offenses, and the situation will be more complicated when a driver leaves the crash site. If you or someone you care about left the site of an accident caused by a drunk driver, you need to talk to a qualified Texas attorney. A skilled lawyer can inform you of what options are available and if it is possible to get your charges dismissed. If not dismissed, possibly a reduction can be discussed. Talk to the legal team at Ayson Law Firm today. Contact us for a free consultation.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Skip footer and go back to main navigation