Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Houston DWI Lawyer > Blog > DWI > Driving While Intoxicated In The State Of Texas

Driving While Intoxicated In The State Of Texas

DUI17

Drunk driving, also known as driving while intoxicated, is referred to as a DWI. Driving under the influence, a DUI, may be used in conversation interchangeably with a DWI but they are technically different. In the state of Texas, a DUI is typically a charge for minors. An individual can be charged with a DWI if they are driving a car, boat, amusement ride, or aircraft. Essentially, if alcohol or a controlled substance, illegal drugs or prescribed medications, has impaired a person’s ability to safely operate a motor vehicle.

It is important to connect with a Houston DWI lawyer as soon as possible after an arrest. You have rights and an experienced lawyer can assess your situation and inform you of your legal options. Understanding the scope and severity of the situation is essential. Too often, individuals dismiss the seriousness of their arrest, either because it is their first offense or because they believe that having a valid prescription for a drug makes it ok to drive while impaired.

Times When Penalties are Enhanced

There are already strict penalties for DWIs in the state of Texas, and certain situations can enhance those penalties. Such as the following.

  • If a person had prior convictions
  • Having a minor in the car during the time the driving while intoxicated occurred
  • A person is seriously hurt or killed as a result of an accident involving a drunk driver
  • Alcohol concentration was extremely high

Each situation needs to be carefully assessed. The charge is often stemmed from a driver’s breath or blood alcohol concentration, above .08 is deemed illegal. When the concentration is above .15, an enhanced penalty could come into the legal conversation.

Consequences for Texas DWIs

It is important to keep in mind that general consequences do not take the details of your situation into account. A lawyer can discuss with you what is likely for your situation. That said, you could face the minimum charges or more.

First offenses:

  • Up to $2,000 in fines
  • 3 to 180 days in jail
  • Up to a year of a lost driver’s license
  • Yearly fee for license once it is reinstated

Second offenses:

  • Up to $4,000 in fines
  • A year in jail
  • Up to two years of driver’s license loss
  • Yearly fee for license once it is reinstated

Third offenses:

  • Up to $10,000 in fines
  • 2-10 years in prison
  • Up to two years of driver’s license loss
  • Yearly fee for license once it is reinstated

Court appearances could be necessary, along with classes and assessments. These additional gates could increase the cost of your arrest. Plus, it is possible your auto insurance premiums will increase.

Are you coping with a DWI charge and are unsure where to turn? It’s important you understand your rights. Our experienced legal team can defend you against criminal charges. We have the knowledge to protect you whether the alleged crime was minor or serious. Reach out to the legal team at Ayson Law Firm to understand your rights. Contact us today for a free consultation with a Houston criminal defense attorney today.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
  • facebook
  • youtube
  • yelp
  • twitter
  • linkedin

© 2020 - 2021 Ayson Law Firm. All rights reserved. This law firm website
and legal marketing are managed by MileMark Media.