Skip to main content

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu
Ayson Law Firm Aggressive Criminal Defense Representation in Houston
  • Schedule A Free Consultation

Will I Lose My License Because of a Texas DWI?


Many drivers in Houston, and around Texas, use their cars daily, to get to work and visit friends and family. When relying on a car, it can be a huge upset to lose a driver’s license. Many neighborhoods and errands cannot be navigated by foot or on a bicycle.

But after a DWI, it is likely your driver’s license will be suspended. If it is your first offense, the timing could be 90 days or more. When previous convictions are involved the timeframes are longer, possibly up to two years. If you or someone you love needs help with a DWI arrest in Texas, reach out to a Houston DWI lawyer for help.

Length of License Suspensions

There are serious penalties when drivers are operating a vehicle under the influence. After all, the driver is a risk to themselves and others who are on the road. Losing a license is part of an overall penalty, but how long a license is suspended depends on a few factors.

For example, if a person has had previous DWIs, that is taken into account. If a person has completed a course in alcohol education and if the individual is under 21 or older is also considered. In some situations, a driver can get their license pack if they participate in a program devoted to alcohol education. First offenders are typically required to participate in 12 hours of the program. If there were previous convictions, 32 hours of the program are typically required.

To learn more about Texas laws and how a license suspension could be applied in your situation, connect with a Houston DWI lawyer. There are solutions in some circumstances. While licenses can be lost, at least temporarily, due to DWIs, there may be the possibility of a hardship license when driving is a necessity.

A Hardship License May Be a Possibility

Individuals who may be eligible for a hardship driver’s license in Texas include some first-time offenders. In these circumstances a restricted license may be issued, which limits driving freedoms. Restricted licenses could be used when a person needs a car for one or all of the following needs.

  • Needing a car to get to work.
  • School cannot be accessed without a vehicle.
  • Driving is necessary to get to alcohol treatment programs.
  • Medical appointments need to be attended.

A knowledgeable Texas lawyer can assess a situation and discover if it is possible to secure a restricted license.

For families managing a DWI arrest, the situation can be stressful. A person’s ability to drive could impact more than just themselves when spouses, children, parents, and other family members rely on a family car for transportation. It is important to know what options are available, an experienced legal team can help.

Were you arrested for a Texas DWI? You need a qualified DWI defense lawyer advocating for you. Our seasoned legal team has the knowledge needed to defend against criminal charges, from minor to serious. Reach out to the legal team at Ayson Law Firm to understand your rights. Contact us today for a free consultation.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Skip footer and go back to main navigation