Skip to main content

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu
Ayson Law Firm Aggressive Criminal Defense Representation in Houston
  • Schedule A Free Consultation

Type Of DWI Class Designated By Arrest History


After an arrest and conviction for a driving while intoxicated (DWI) offense in the state of Texas, consequences will be connected to a person’s criminal history. Whether you are a first-time DWI offender or a person with multiple DWIs on your record, alcohol education classes will likely be in your future.

Whether you are facing a class B misdemeanor, which is common for a first-time offense, or a more severe charge, you need a Houston DWI lawyer to strategize the best path forward given the details of your situation, including your arrest history.

Cost and Length of Classes Can Vary

Because the classes you need to take following a DWI are connected to your criminal history, the expense and timeframe will vary depending on the details of your situation.

  • First offense. If you have never been charged with a crime before, you will likely be required to take a class that will take a total of 12 hours to complete over a period of three to four days. There is often an online option and the fees for the class is typically around $100.
  • Multiple convictions. When there are prior offenses, a class that covers a wider scope is required. These classes typically require over 30 hours over a period of weeks. Because they are longer and more extensive, the fee is also higher. Around a $300 fee should be expected and budgeted for accordingly.
  • Participation in special alcohol education courses may be required for juvenile offenders. These courses typically have a lower cost and are completed in a shorter time frame than the classes designed for adults.

Classes can be an important resource for offenders. While some see them solely as a penalty, they are actually serving an important purpose. DWI courses can help an offender to understand how destructive drunk driving is and help them to recognize signs of alcohol abuse. If a person has a substance addiction, learning about recovery programs can improve their lives and the lives of others.

Documentation Needed to Attend a DWI Class

In order for you to attend a DWI class, in person or online, your registration will need to be processed. The following forms of documentation may be required.

  • Your driver’s license
  • Case number
  • Court order, including judgment
  • Your social security number
  • Driving history
  • Traffic citation received

Avoiding court-ordered classes could lead to your driver’s license being revoked. For guidance on next steps, talk to an attorney. A Houston DWI lawyer with years of criminal defense experience can let you know what to expect and defend your rights.

Do you have questions about what classes you will be required to attend following a Texas arrest? A Texas criminal attorney can help. Our experienced legal team can help you decide what is the best path forward for you when defending yourself against drunk driving charges. Reach out to the legal team at Ayson Law Firm to discuss what options are available given the details of your case. Contact us today for a free consultation with a Houston criminal defense attorney.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Skip footer and go back to main navigation