Skip to main content

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu
Ayson Law Firm Aggressive Criminal Defense Representation in Houston
  • Schedule A Free Consultation

Harris County Third DWI Offense Lawyer

Texas consistently ranks as one of the worst states in the country for fatalities and injuries due to motorists driving while intoxicated (DWI). To prevent these catastrophic accidents from occurring, the Lone Star State has some of the harshest penalties for motorists that engage in this behavior. Any driver convicted of a DWI will face serious consequences, but when a person has previous convictions on their record, the penalties become much harsher. To avoid these penalties, it is critical to speak to a Harris County third DWI offense lawyer that can provide the defense you need.

Our Harris County Third Offense Lawyer Can Help You Avoid Criminal Penalties

Even a conviction for a first DWI offense will result in at least three years in jail. When you are convicted of a DWI for a third time, you will be sentenced to state prison, and not county jail. The amount of time you will serve will also range between two and ten years. A judge may allow you to serve up to ten years of probation rather than a prison sentence. Still, a mandatory jail sentence of at least ten days still applies. The maximum fine for a DWI conviction is set at $10,000, and you may have to serve between 80 and 200 hours of community service.

After being arrested for a third DWI, you will also have to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. These machines are deep breath lung machines and they can detect alcohol on the breath. You will have to blow in this machine any time you wish to drive and if alcohol is detected, your vehicle will not start.

Our Harris County Third Offense Lawyer Can Help You Avoid Civil Penalties

Every DWI case will involve both criminal and civil penalties. The civil penalties mainly involve the driver’s license suspension you will face. After a third DWI offense, the Department of Public Safety (DPS) may suspend your driver’s license for up to two years. If your driver’s license was issued in another state, you will still not be allowed to drive in Texas. The DPS may even notify the state that issued your driver’s license to inform them of the suspension.

Once your driving privileges have been restored, you will have to pay an assessment fee to the DPS. This assessment fee can be anywhere from $1,500 to $2,000. You will have to pay this fee every year for three years, and your auto insurance premiums will also likely increase.

Our Third Offense Lawyer in Harris County Can Help with Your Charges

A conviction for any DWI will come with serious consequences, but they become even worse if you are convicted a third time. At Ayson Law Firm, our Harris County third offense lawyer can devise a defense strategy to help you beat the charges and retain your freedom. Call us today at 832-209-2297 or fill out our online form to schedule a free consultation and to learn more about how we can help.

Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Skip footer and go back to main navigation