Houston DWI Lawyers

Aggressive, Tenacious Representation for Your DWI

Schedule a Free Consultation

protected by reCAPTCHA Privacy - Terms

Houston DWI Lawyer

First things first: If you or someone you know has just been arrested for DWI in Houston, please call us at 832-209-2297. We want to get started as soon as possible on the defense. Ayson Law Firm is here to protect your license, defend you from criminal charges, and explain your situation. We offer free consultations. For advice, call us. For more information, please continue reading.

What Is DWI?

DWIDriving while intoxicated is a common criminal offense in Texas. In general terms, a DWI is when people drive under the influence of any intoxicant: prescriptions, illegal drugs, over-the-counter medication, marijuana, or alcohol, for example.
A DWI conviction can be extremely disruptive. If convicted, you could face:

  • Heavy fines
  • Jail time
  • Suspension of your driver’s license
  • A persistent criminal record

Why Do I Need a DWI Lawyer?

If you are not convicted yet, you need an attorney. There is no such thing as a minor crime. A record could create problems with employment, professional licenses, loans, housing, education, and immigration status. As experienced Houston DWI lawyers, we take an aggressive approach to DWI defense. You need a strategy tailored to your specific situation, for example:

  • This DWI is your first criminal charge — possibly your first traffic ticket.
  • You had a high BAC result on your test and have an aggravated DWI charge.
  • The DWI comes from prescription drugs, illegal substances, or other non-alcohol intoxication.

Can I Get My License Back?

In some cases, arresting officers might give you a notice of suspension. You can drive for 40 days using this document before the suspension kicks in. Alternatively, the state could immediately suspend your license if:

  • You had a BAC of 0.08 or more, or
  • You refused to submit to a breath or blood test.

You could prevent the automatic suspension by requesting an Administrative License Revocation hearing. This ALR hearing should delay your suspension — even if you are convicted of DWI — and might give you an opportunity to challenge. The ALR hearing is a civil matter, and your DWI is a criminal one. A DWI attorney from Ayson Law Firm can help you navigate the ALR hearing process while also battling your criminal charges.

What Are the Penalties for DWI in Texas?

State lawmakers have taken a hard line against DWI. Here are the maximum penalties.

First conviction

  • Class B misdemeanor
  • $2,000 fine
  • 180 days in jail
  • One year suspension

Over 0.015 and a first conviction

  • Class A misdemeanor
  • $4,000 fine
  • One year in jail
  • Two year suspension

Second conviction

  • Class A misdemeanor
  • $4,000 fine
  • One year in jail
  • Two year suspension

Third convictions

Third offenses are even more serious — one reason to fight aggressively against developing any marks on your record. The penalties are:

  • 3rd degree felony
  • Up to $10,000 in fines
  • From two to ten years in prison
  • License suspension up to two years

Get a free consultation with an experienced DWI attorney

Call us as soon as possible after the arrest. You have only a matter of days to begin the process and get the best possible outcome — but it is never too late to get a professional opinion. Call us at 832-209-2297 now.

Client Testimonials

Griselda C.

I definitely made a good choice by hiring him. He always answers my questions to my satisfaction and treated me with respect. He’s a great lawyer, I’m very satisfied with his service. I would definitely let my friends and family know, if they were to need a lawyer in the future.

Angel C.

He was honest and open with me during the process. I would recommend the law firm to anyone that was looking for a good reputable lawyer. The process was easy and smooth and I would say that the communication was always there.

Schedule a Free Consultation