New Data Reveals Underage DUI Problem In Harris County
A 2019 report suggests roughly 300 drivers under the age of 21 have been arrested for DUI so far in Harris County. Researchers hope these numbers will inspire local leaders to step up preventative campaigns throughout Houston.
Harris County District Attorney Kim Ogg led the investigation into this issue. For their study, analysts looked into 2019 statistics of drivers aged between 17 – 20 who were arrested of DWI.
To be included in this study, the driver must have shown a blood-alcohol content (BAC) of over 0.08 percent. Shockingly, researchers say many of these drivers had a BAC of 0.14 percent when arrested.
According to another study out of the Houston Chronicle, the Houston metro area is one of the most dangerous in the nation for DUI-related crashes. There were roughly 3,000 deadly collisions involving DUI between 2001 – 2016.
Current DWI Policies In Houston
Drivers caught with 0.08 percent BAC in the Lone Star State could legally be charged with DWI. Penalties vary case-by-case, but you might face a fine of no more than $2,000, a max of 180 days in jail, and driver’s license suspension.
The Texas DOT strongly encourages anyone who knows they’ll be out drinking to designate a sober driver or use a cab. For more information on DWI in Texas, visit this official DOT webpage.
Drivers should also be aware that there are many more consequences to drunk driving than just losing your license. According to Hancock Injury Attorneys, some of those consequences include possible loss of employment, higher insurance rates and possible dram shop liability.
Charged With DWI? Call Ayson Law Firm
If you or a loved one is charged with DWI in Austin, please call the Ayson Law Firm for legal assistance. Over the years, our team has helped many DWI clients understand their rights and ensure they get a fair hearing.
At Ayson Law Firm, we take the time to understand the specifics of your case and focus on the issues you need to take care of. In addition to DWI defense, our firm handles issues such as criminal defense, personal injury, and manslaughter charges.
You can reach the Ayson Law Firm for a free consultation at 832-209-2297.