Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Houston DWI Lawyer > Harris County ATVs & Off-Road DWI Lawyer

Harris County ATVs & Off-Road DWI Lawyer

People love getting out to see Harris County using an all-terrain vehicle (ATV) and other off-road vehicles. Off-roading is sometimes more popular than driving other motor vehicles because they can get into little-known places and can provide for a real adventure. Even when using off-road vehicles, it is important to remember that many laws still govern these rides.

If you are operating an off-road vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, you may still face driving while intoxicated (DWI) charges, just as if you were operating a standard vehicle. The penalties you will face if convicted are also the same as if you were driving a passenger car. If you are facing charges, it is critical to speak to a Harris County ATVs and off-road DWI lawyer that can prepare the defense you need.

Our Harris County ATVs & Off-Road DWI Lawyer Classifies These Vehicles

Texas law does not provide any real definition of ATVs and other off-road vehicles. According to Texas Parks & Wildlife, these vehicles should actually strictly be called “off-highway” and not “off-road.” The agency’s reasoning for this is because while off-road vehicles do not travel on freeways and other main roads, they do still travel on roads, only on ones that are not used as frequently as others.

Regardless of what they are called, off-road vehicles usually consist of a basic frame, an acceleration and braking system, and a steering wheel. ATVs also often have hand-grip brakes, handlebars, and thumb-lever throttles. No matter the definition of these vehicles, it is important to know that the DWI laws of the state still apply.

Our Harris County ATVs & Off-Road DWI Lawyer Explains the Law

Just as motorists are not allowed to drive a vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or greater, they also cannot drive an ATV or off-road vehicle while intoxicated. If convicted of this offense, you will be sentenced to a minimum of three days in jail, and as much as 180 days. Your driver’s license will also be suspended and you will have to pay high fines.

The difference in DWI cases that involve a vehicle and those that involve an ATV or off-road vehicle is that the DWI law in the state only makes it a crime to operate a vehicle while intoxicated in a public place. If a person was on private property while intoxicated and operating an off-road vehicle, they cannot face charges unless they hurt someone.

Our ATVs & Off-Road DWI Lawyer in Harris County Can Prepare Your Defense

Being charged with a DWI while on an off-road vehicle is scary, but there are many defenses available in these cases. At Ayson Law Firm, our Harris County ATVs and off-road DWI lawyer knows the best defenses in these cases and will use them to give you the best chance of beating the charges. Call us today at 832-209-2297 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation.

Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
  • facebook
  • youtube
  • yelp
  • twitter
  • linkedin

© 2020 - 2024 Ayson Law Firm. All rights reserved. This law firm marketing
website is managed by MileMark Media.